Gone Girl #Review

Name of the book: Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Rating: ****
Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Drama

 

This effect somehow suits the book

 This book was indeed, entertainingIt had me right from the first page (‘My life was alarmless’) It was thrilling, funny, dramatic (SO much) and mysterious. A good mix.

“Give me a man with a little fight in him, a man who calls me on my bullshit. (But who also kind of likes my bullshit.)” Haha YES xD

The narration was amazing. So was the writing. The way Flynn wrote about the feelings (alternate chapters) of the two married people was impressive. The characters? Disturbingly good. This book was disturbingly good.

>>>>>>>>>>>>> “We were the first human beings who would never see anything for the first time. We stare at the wonders of the world, dull-eyed, underwhelmed. Mona Lisa, the Pyramids, the Empire State Building. Jungle animals on attack, ancient icebergs collapsing, volcanoes erupting. I can’t recall a single amazing thing I have seen firsthand that I didn’t immediately reference to a movie or TV show”

The cool girl theory by Flynn was also quite interesting. (Watch the clip from the movie on youtube: Cool Girl Monologue) 

“Go ahead, shit on me, I don’t mind, I’m the Cool Girl”

The first half of the book, though, was not as gripping as one would wish. Sometimes I just didn’t want to read further (and I didn’t for almost a week) but BOOM came the second part. Literally BOOM.

“People who get caught get caught because they don’t have patience; they refuse to plan.”

I could not pick sides. There was so much going on! I hate Nick…..nope…..I hate Amy…..sorry…..Go die Nick…..oops……Why are you alive Amy…….

“Good Lord, I hated her, but you had to admire the bitch.”

The way it (kinda) brought up social norms and the typicalness of everything that is needed was also interesting.

“Tampon commercial, detergent commercial, maxipad commercial, Windex commercial. You’d think all women do is clean and bleed.” 

It was a dark book in the sense that the characters were nowhere near normal. The height of their thinking process is unbelievable. I found the ending a little strange. I was actually looking forward to reading  more because I knew there were 3 more pages, but they were the acknowledgements :3

It was a worth it book. I might watch the movie soon. 

I also discovered a dead fly inside the book lol

Leave a Reply

